Good Luck India!!!

I was walking down to the house at the end of the street, returning from my daily sojourn, when I stopped dead in my tracks. A little girl stood in the corner, her face masked by the darkness that had befallen the city. I could see something glistening beneath her eyes though. I walked up to her. She was crying indeed.

“What happened?” I asked.

“Nothing’s happened.”

“Then what’s the problem?”

“That is the problem. I want something to happen. Nothing has happened.”

What was she trying to say? What should have happened?

“What do you want?” I asked, thoroughly perplexed.

“No one on the streets has touched me yet”

I was taken aback.

“What!!!”

“Yeah, no one’s touched me yet.”

“That’s brilliant!”

It was her turn to be confused.

“Wait a minute. That is a good thing? I don’t understand. Mom said that was what separated this country from the crowd. Men grope women here. It’s everyone’s pastime.”

I stood there stunned and at a loss of words while she cried away.

 

p.s. The year is (say) 2030.The remaining voices of protest have been defeated and ostracized. Good luck India!!!

 

3 thoughts on “Good Luck India!!!

Leave a Reply

