Criminal

I was on the brink of a total breakdown. Neither did I have a sound motive, nor a good story to fall back on. My alibi was extremely questionable, to say the least, contrary to what my defense counsel thought and tried to assure me of. I didn’t have any hope.

I was arrested on grounds of gross medical negligence and cold blooded murder. I was put up for trial by the court.The date for the hearing was fixed on 25th December. “Merry Christmas,” I thought dryly  Not that it made any difference. Still, it felt kind of embarrassing to know that on the same day that a GOD (?) was born, I was to stand trial for exactly the kind of things that man didn’t preach.

25th December

We all entered the court at 9:30 a.m. The hearing was scheduled at 9:40. Initially I didn’t feel like going. What was the use? But my lawyers reminded me that if I didn’t go, I would run the risk of a subpoena by the judge, a hard old woman who loved to take it out on men who disagreed with the law.

The hearing started. Lawyers on both sides bore down on countless witnesses. I didn’t even know half of them. The only ground that the lawyers on my behalf tried to build the case on was that I was not in my proper senses and hence the act was non-premeditated. Even then the evidence was lopsided, stacked up heavily against me. All defenses went in vain and finally at 12:12 p.m. the judge, convinced that I was at deliberate fault charged me with murder.

As I sat in my cell, the judge who had presided over the hearing came to meet me.

“May I speak with you for a moment Mr. Dasgupta?”

“Okay, I guess.”

“Did she ask you to do it?”

I was startled. How did she know all that? I choked in fear.

“Yes.”

She sighed heavily and got up.

“You did not commit any crime in my eyes Mr. Dasgupta. She was dying anyway. You saved her a lot pain. But our country doesn’t recognize euthanasia to be legal. Otherwise we could have avoided this unpleasant situation altogether. You do understand that although I believe you are in the clear, as a judge I still had to prosecute you, right? ”

“Yeah it’s your job.I get it. But taking a life still counts as a crime,isn’t it?”

“Does it?” She smiled. It was one of the most melancholic smiles I had ever seen.

She started to leave when she half turned and still smiling her sad smile said, “Oh! And by the way in case you are wondering how I know all this, it’s just that she had begged me many a time to kill her; to end her suffering but I couldn’t. I was a coward. What was I to do? She was after all my daughter.”

5 thoughts on “Criminal

  1. Hi,

    We saw your blog and instantly loved it. And we wish to invite you to FirstQuarto.

    FirstQuarto is a social original-content sharing tool that lets you post original content in the form of articles, blog-posts, opinions, commentaries, reviews etc. and have your ideas rated, shared and publicized by fellow users. We believe in aiming to make the world’s best original content easily accessible and usable. In an age when the world rates just about everything from restaurants to presidents, we realize how important quality-rating is and how beautifully it serves the dual purpose of providing absolute publicity and saving one’s time.

    Your already existing blog is easily connected at FirstQuarto. We are, as yet, only beginning to open up to the web so you are one of the first few people we’re inviting.

    Please visit http://firstquarto.com/about to find out more.

    We hope you register with us and like our effort.

    With pleasure,
    The FirstQuarto Team

Leave a Reply

